Fellowship Winners
2003-2004 Award Winner
Melanie Badali

The selection committee for the J.H. Stewart Reid Memorial Fellowship is pleased to announce that this year’s fellowship has been awarded to Melanie Badali for her research work in the area of clinical and health psychology.

Ms. Badali graduated with a first class honours degree in psychology from McGill University and a M.A. (clinical psychology) from UBC. The doctoral candidate is now conducting research under Dr. Kenneth Craig’s supervision in the department of clinical psychology.

She is studying the role of environmental, psychosocial and sociocultural factors in pain experience, assessment and management. “Pain is a pervasive and universal form of human distress,” she says. “Its under management is a serious problem for individuals, those who care for them and the public at large.”

She has published articles and conference papers on the topic of pain in numerous journals, including Behavioral and Brain Sciences, Clinical Journal of Pain, Canadian Psychology, Pain Research and Management, Pain Forum and The Journal of Pain. She is actively involved in professional organizations and recently served as guest editor to the Clinical Journal of Pain for a special issue on the detection of pain deception and malingering. She has also been distinguished by a number of scholarly awards, including fellowships from the Canadian Institutes of Health Research and the Social Sciences and Humanities Research Council of Canada.

Boursiers et boursières

La bourse de 2003-2004
Le comité de sélection de la Bourse commémorative J.H. Stewart Reid a le plaisir de vous annoncer que la lauréate de la bourse 2003-2004 est Melanie Badali pour ses travaux de recherche dans le domaine de la psychologie clinique et de la santé.

Mme Badali a obtenu, avec les meilleures notes, un baccalauréat en psychologie de l’Université McGill et une maîtrise en psychologie clinique de l’UBC. Candidate au doctorat, elle mène présentement des recherches sous la supervision du Dr Kenneth Craig, du département de psychologie clinique.

Elle étudie le rôle de l’environnement ainsi que des facteurs psychosociaux et socioculturels dans l’expérience, l’évaluation et le traitement de la douleur. « La douleur est une forme universelle et envahissante de la détresse humaine », affirme-t-elle. « Ne pas réussir à apaiser la douleur est un grave problème pour les gens, ceux qui se soucient d’eux-mêmes et de la population en général ».

Elle a publié des articles et des communications sur la douleur dans de multiples revues savantes, dont Behavioral and Brain Sciences, Clinical Journal of Pain, Psychologie canadienne, Pain Research and Management, Pain Forum et The Journal of Pain. Elle est activement engagée dans des organismes professionnels et a récemment été une collaboratrice occasionnelle du Clinical Journal of Pain pour un numéro spécial sur la détection de la douleur trompeuse et de la simulation. Elle a reçu de nombreuses récompenses scientifiques, notamment des bourses de l’Institut de recherche en santé du Canada et du Conseil de recherches en sciences humaines du Canada.