Fellowship Winners
2008-2009 Award Winner
Jonathan CraneJonathan Crane, a University of Toronto student completing a PhD in Modern Jewish Thought, has been chosen for this year’s Stewart Reid fellowship sponsored by CAUT.

Crane holds a BA, summa cum laude, from Wheaton College in Massachusetts, a master’s degree in international peace studies from the University of Notre Dame in Indiana, and a MPhil in Gandhian Thought from Gujarat Vidyapith in Ahmedabad, India. As a Wexner Graduate Fellow, he received both rabbinic ordination and a Master of Arts in Hebrew Letters from Hebrew Union College — Jewish Institute of Religion.

His doctoral dissertation develops a new method of understanding religious (specifically Jewish) ethical discourse. Combining philosophy of theology with discourse analysis, Crane says his study demonstrates both how religious ethicists argue and why they argue as they do, and intends to contribute to fields that analyze the confluence of law and ethics, the construction of religious norms and the role of religious discourse in multicultural societies.

In conjunction with his academic work, Crane has presented at conferences and guest lectured throughout the world on a diverse range of topics from Judaism, interfaith relations, social justice, and Gandhian philosophy to euthanasia and war and peace. He has written a book and two book chapters, and his research has appeared in several peer-reviewed journals. He has received numerous awards and honours, including Connaught and Ontario Graduate scholarships, as well as having won support from the Social Sciences and Humanities Research Council, the Memorial Foundation for Jewish Culture, the Centre for the Study of Religion and the Centre for Jewish Studies at the University of Toronto.

Crane was selected for the fellowship by a three-member application review committee, which this year included Christine Storm, a former professor with Mount Allison University’s psychology department, Françoise Naudillon, an assistant professor of French at Concordia University, and Queen’s University biology professor Ken Ko.

CAUT established the annual J.H. Stewart Reid Memorial Fellowship 40 years ago to honour the memory of its first executive secretary. The program invites applications from students of exceptional academic standing in doctoral programs at Canadian universities. Stewart Reid Fellows receive $5,000 for one academic year of study.

Boursiers et boursières
 
La bourse de 2008-2009
L'ACPPU a décerné cette année la bourse commémorative Stewart-Reid à Jonathan Crane, étudiant au doctorat en pensée juive moderne à l’Université de Toronto.

M. Crane détient un baccalauréat ès arts (avec très grande distinction) du Collège Wheaton au Massachusetts, une maîtrise en études internationales sur la paix de l’Université de Notre Dame en Indiana ainsi qu’une maîtrise en pensée ghandienne de l’Université Gujarat Vid­yapith à Ahmedabad, en Inde. Bour­sier de la Fondation Wexner, il a été ordonné rabbin et a reçu une maîtrise en lettres hébraï­ques du Hebrew Union College — Jewish Institute of Religion. de la Fondation Wexner, il a été ordonné rabbin et a reçu une maîtrise en lettres hébraï­ques du Hebrew Union College — Jewish Institute of Religion.

Dans sa thèse de doctorat, M. Crane élabore une nouvelle méthode pour comprendre le discours religieux (juif tout particulièrement) et éthi­que. Par la fusion de la phi­losophie de la théologie et de l’ana­lyse du discours, il affirme démon­trer dans son étude tous les aspects du jeu dialectique des spécialistes de l’éthi­que reli­gieuse, et il compte appor­ter une contribution aux disciplines qui analysent la confluence du droit et de l’éthi­que, l’établissement de normes religieuses et le rôle du dis­cours religieux dans les sociétés multiculturelles.

Parallèlement à ses travaux universitaires, M. Crane a présenté des exposés, à titre d’expert et de conférencier invité, dans le monde entier sur une variété de sujets tels que le judaïsme, les relations interconfessionnelles, la justice sociale, la philosophie ghandienne, l’eutha­nasie ainsi que la guerre et la paix. Il est l’auteur d’un livre et de deux chapitres d’autres ouvrages, et les résultats de ses recherches ont été publiés dans plusieurs revues scientifiques. Il a reçu de nombreux prix et distinctions honorifiques, dont des bourses d’études supéri­eures de l’Ontario et de la Fondation Connaught, en plus d’obtenir une aide financière du Conseil de recherches en sciences humaines du Canada, de la Memorial Foundation for Jewish Culture, du Centre for the Study of Religion et du Centre for Jewish Studies de l’Université de Toronto.

M. Crane a été sélectionné comme lauréat de la bourse Stewart-Reid par un comité formé de trois mem­bres qui sont, cette année, Christine Storm, ancienne professeure du département de psychologie de l’Université Mount Allison, Fran­çoise Naudillon, professeure adjointe de français à l’Université Con­cordia, et Ken Ko, professeur de biologie à l’Université Queen’s.

L’ACPPU a créé la Fiducie de la Bourse commémorative J.H. Stewart Reid il y a 40 ans pour commé­mo­rer la vie et l’oeuvre de son pre­mier secrétaire général. La bourse de 5 000 $ est accordée, pour une année d’études, à une étudiante ou à un étudiant de niveau académi­que exceptionnel qui est inscrit à un pro­gramme de doctorat d’une université canadienne.