Fellowship Winners
 2009-2010 Award Winner

Kevin Walby Kevin Walby, a doctoral student in sociology at Carleton University, has been awarded CAUT’s Stewart Reid fellowship.

Walby graduated from the University of Saskatchewan with a bachelor of arts (Hons), earned a post-graduate sociology degree from the University of Victoria, and in 2006 went to the European Consortium for Political Research summer school, otherwise known as the “research methods summer camp.”

Contributing to the sociology of sexuality, his doctoral dissertation research explores the working lives of 30 male-for-male internet es­corts in Montreal, Ottawa, Toronto (Ca­na­da), Houston and New York (USA), as well as London (England). His ambition is to have his research papers published as a book with a Canadian university press.

His current research interests include surveillance and urban governance and he has published 30 peer-reviewed articles, book chapters and review essays, as well as authored numerous other papers, reports and book reviews.

In addition to his contributions to Canadian sociology, Walby serves as the prisoners? struggles editor as well as the outreach/advocacy coordinator for the Ottawa-based Journal of Prisoners on Prisons, a peer-reviewed, nonprofit publication about prison issues that is mostly written by prisoners. He is also a member of Books2Prisoners Ottawa.

He has received a number of scholarships, awards and honours over his student years, including the Queen?s Fellowship from the Social Sciences and Humanities Research Council of Canada, and hopes to take up a career at a Canadian university.

Walby was selected for the fellowship by a three-member application review committee, which this year included Françoise Naudillon, a professor with the French department at Concordia University, Queen?s University biology professor Ken Ko and Chris Ferns, a professor of English at Mount Saint Vincent University.

Boursiers et boursières
La bourse de 2009-2010

Kevin WalbyL’ACPPU a décerné cette année la bourse commémorative Stewart-Reid à Kevin Walby, doctorant en sociologie à l’Université Carleton.

M. Walby détient un baccalauréat ès arts avec mention de l’Université de la Saskatchewan ainsi qu’un diplôme d’études supérieures en sociologie de l’Université de Victoria. En 2006, il a participé à l’école d’été de l’European Consortium for Political Research, connu aussi comme « le camp d’été sur les méthodes de recherche ».

Pour sa thèse de doctorat en sociologie de la sexualité, il poursuit des recherches sur la vie active de 30 escortes masculines pour hommes qui, à partir d’Internet, offrent leurs services à Montréal, à Ottawa et à Toronto (Canada), à Houston et à New York (États-Unis) et à Londres (Angleterre). Il aspire à publier les résultats de ses travaux sous forme de livre chez une presse universitaire canadienne.

Actuellement, ses intérêts de recherches portent sur la surveillance et la gouvernance urbaine. Il a publié 30 articles scientifiques, chapitres de livres et essais critiques, et a rédigé un grand nombre de communications, de rapports et de comptes rendus de livres.

Parallèlement à son apport à la sociologie canadienne, M. Walby participe, en tant que rédacteur en chef de la section consacrée aux luttes des prisonniers et coordonnateur des services de liaison et de la défense des intérêts, à la publication du Journal of Prisoners on Prisons, une revue académique sans but lucratif, basée à Ottawa, où les articles sont centrés sur les réalités carcérales, évalués par un comité de pairs et écrits principalement par des détenus. Il est également membre de Books2Prisoners Ottawa.

Il a reçu plusieurs bourses, prix et distinctions honorifiques au cours de ses années d’études, dont la Bourse de la Reine décernée par le Conseil de recherches en sciences humaines du Canada, et il souhaite faire carrière dans une université canadienne.

M. Walby a été sélectionné comme lauréat de la bourse Stewart-Reid par un comité formé de trois membres qui sont, cette année, Françoise Naudillon, professeure au département de français de l’Université Concordia, Ken Ko, professeur de biologie à l’Université Queen’s et Chris Ferns, professeur d’anglais à l’Université Mount Saint Vincent.