Fellowship Winners
2010-2011 Award Winner

Nadia GuidottoNadia Guidotto, a student working towards a PhD in political science at York University, has been awarded CAUT’s J.H. Stewart Reid fellowship.

Nadia studies gender identity and sexual orientation. She has an honours bachelor of arts degree from Queen’s University, a master of laws from Osgoode Hall Law School and a master of arts from York University. Her current research analyzes intersex and how authoritative discourses like medicine and law support one another in maintaining a hierarchy of bodies to the exclusion of some bodies and to the benefit of others. Her goal is to shed light on how gender has been — and continues to be — constructed and regulated, and help explain why bodies that exist outside the binary gender system create anxiety and elicit violence as a result.

In 2008, she won an internship working on gender equality issues at the U.N., and while in New York took on an additional internship at the International Gay and Lesbian Human Rights Commission. In 2009, she was simultaneously accepted for the Summer Course on Human Rights held jointly in The Hague and Leuven (Belgium), the inaugural Canadian Institutes of Health Research summer institute on gender and health at the University of British Columbia, and the international summer school program, Interfacing the Sciences and Humanities, at the University of Bologna’s branch centre in Rimini, Italy. Also in 2009, she won a visiting research fellowship at the Centre of Gender Excellence at the University of Linköping, Sweden. This summer she enrolled in the one-week intensive CEDAW (Convention on the Elimination of all Forms of Discrimination Against Women) for Change session held within the Women’s Human Rights Institute at the University of Toronto.

She has presented at numerous conferences and published articles on a variety of topics throughout her graduate career. Among her academic honours are a Chancellor’s Scholarship from Queen’s University, the high-profile Abella Scholarship for Studies in Equity from York University, and Canada Graduate Scholarships from the Social Sciences and Humanities Research Council for both her masters and doctoral work.

Nadia was selected for CAUT’s fellowship by a three-member application review committee, which this year included Queen’s University biology professor Ken Ko, Chris Ferns, a professor of English at Mount Saint Vincent University, and retired Bishop’s University sociology professor and former president of CAUT Loretta Czerniz.

Boursiers et boursières
La bourse de 2010-2011

Nadia Guidotto L'ACPPU a décerné cette année la bourse commémorative Stewart-Reid à Nadia Guidotto, doctorante en science politique à l’Université York.

Nadia détient un baccalauréat ès arts (spécialisé) de l’Université Queen’s, une maîtrise en droit de l’Osgoode Hall Law School et une maîtrise ès arts de l’Université York. Elle se consacre à l’étude de l’identité de genre et de l’orientation sexuelle. Dans le cadre de ses re­cher­ches actuelles, elle s’intéresse à l’intersexe et analyse comment les domaines faisant autorité comme la médecine et le droit tendent à s’aider mutuellement à perpétuer une hiérarchie de corps au détriment de certains et à l’avantage d’autres. Elle cherche ainsi à mieux comprendre comment le genre a jusqu’ici été — et continue d’être — construit et réglé et à expliquer pourquoi les corps qui se situent hors du système binaire des genres génèrent de l’anxiété et suscitent par voie de conséquence de la violence.

En 2008, Nadia a été choisie pour faire un stage sur l’égalité entre les genres aux Nations Unies et, pendant son séjour à New-York, elle a fait un autre stage auprès de la Commission internationale des droits humains des gais et lesbiennes. En 2009, elle a participé à l’école d’été sur les droits humains tenue à La Haye (Pays-Bas) et à Louvain (Belgique), au premier institut d’été des IRSC portant sur le genre et la santé à l’Université de la Colombie-Britannique, ainsi qu’au programme international de l’école d’été (Interaction entre les sciences, les arts et les humanités) au campus de Rimini de l’Université de Bologne en Italie. Au cours de cette même année, elle a été invitée à faire un stage de recherche au Centre of Gender Excellence à l’Université de Linköping en Suède. L’été dernier, elle a suivi un cours intensif d’une semaine sur la Convention sur l’élimination de toutes les formes de discrimination à l’égard des femmes (CEDAW for Change), qui s’est tenu au Women’s Human Rights Institute de l’Université de Toronto.

Elle a présenté des communications à de nombreuses conférences et publié des articles sur une grande variété de sujets tout au long de ses études universitaires supérieures. Entre autres distinctions académiques, elle a reçu la Bourse du chancelier de l’Université Queen’s, la prestigieuse bourse Abella de l’Université York décernée pour des études en équité, de même que des bourses d’études supérieures du Canada du Conseil de recher­ches en sciences humaines tant pour ses travaux de maîtrise que de doctorat.

Nadia a été sélectionnée comme lauréate de la bourse Stewart-Reid par un comité formé de trois membres qui sont, cette année, Ken Ko, professeur de biologie à l’Université Queen’s, Chris Ferns, professeur d’anglais à l’Université Mount Saint Vincent, et Loretta Czerniz, professeure retraitée de sociologie à l’Université Bishop’s et anciennement présidente de l’ACPPU.